More Spiders….

December 1, 2008 at 11:52 pm (Uncategorized)

1228204371-hr-4107.

Spiders…
A couple of weeks ago I posted a picture of a rather large orb spider eating a small bird. These spiders live in the garden but the spiders we have that tend to invade our homes are called \”Huntsman Spiders\”.
This morning when I woke up I looked down into the bowl of my toilet to see hundreds of tiny spiders running around.
They were baby hunstman spiders. Funny though I really haven\’t noticed any hunstman in my bathroom but one or two must have snuck in somehow.
Now even those these spiders are very large they don\’t usually bite and they aren\’t poisonous just painful.
I think just about everyone I know has a story about huntsman. Like a girl I knew who put on her overcoat only to notice in the mirror that a rather large one was perched on her shoulder.
I have lived in a flat that they seemed to love and subsequently thousands of the babies would drop down from the ceiling when they hatched.
Once I woke up in the middle of the night and felt a cobweb on the bed, I went back to sleep only to wake up to see my husband roll over and beneath him was a dead huntsman.
For some reason these spiders seem to really like toilets and the number of times I have had huge ones hiding under the lip on the toilet are too numerous to mention.
When we first moved north, I was about ten and there were so many more here than in Sydney. I was terrified of them and if there was one on the ceiling of my bedroom I would lie awake all night with the light on only to find I had fallen asleep and it had dissapeared!
Anway, they do eat the mozzies which is a good thing, and I have geckos which in turn eat the spiders.
Haha. The circle of life.

Love Me xxx

P.S. I found this picture on the internet NOT my hand or my spider.

9 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    hi I’m not writing about the Spiders I have them in my country I am asking for a photo or two that I can download and save on my computer I believe I wouls lace them in my nature photos with all the wildlife pics. I got offline or maybe in the middle of my floral photos but then again you would be the prettestist of all the flowers I have downloaded so I would keep you privately in a special floder and also keep them tuck away not only in my computer, but also in my heart. HUGS MIKE

  2. Anonymous said,

    Ok……this absolutely FREAKS me out! I HATE HATE HATE spiders. To see something of that size, I’d run through the wall if I didn’t pass out first. OMG! Creepy. I think I’d burn the place down….lol. *Shivers. I would NOT sleep to know that something like that lurked about. Nor would I ever use the potty. Hell, I had a tiny itsy bitsy one to drop down from the shower head once and liked to have knocked myself out trying to run from it. I now curiously peek around before steeping in because I really don’t want to slip and fall in there. That and the damage it could cause the children to see their stark naked, dripping wet mother screaming obscenities about some 8 legged freak disrupting a hot shower.
    Um….go GECKOS!!!!! Hopefully you have other methods of getting rid of them as well. Best wishes.

  3. Anonymous said,

    To quote Jim Stafford;”I don’t like spiders and snakes, and that’s not what it takes to make me love you…” yes, that freaks me too.

  4. Bowzer said,

    LOL, you know Aussie wildlife can give ours a real run for the money! You even have monitor lizards larger than ours (the perentie) and your spiders are amazing! So has FB become a blase veteran of giant spider encounters in the toilet? Do you still scream or just open the door to let them out : )

  5. Anonymous said,

    OK LIKE THESE THINGS THAT ARE IN YOUR TOILET BOWEL AND ON YOUR FRONT LAWN AND IN YOUR HAND ARE JUST NASTY,HAHA, YA DAM NASTY,, WOW I UNDERSTAND THAT WHERE YOU LIVE THESE THINGS ARE LIKE ALL OVER BUT DAM ,THEY ARE EVEN IN YOUR HOME IN THE BATHROOM KILL THEM DONT MAKE PETS OF THEM AND GIVE THEM ALL NICK NAMES HAHAHA, GRAB A SHOE & KILL THE NASTY HUGE HUGE, CREEPY, SPIDERS ,THANK GOD I LIVE IN CANADA THE ONLY THING WE NEED TO WORRY ABOUT HERE IS POLARBEARS AND INLAWS HAHAHA, H U G S ,BUT NO NE FOR THE SPIDERS………..

  6. Anonymous said,

    A N Y O N E 4 SKING? KNOW WORRYS FOLKS WE DO NOT HAVE BIG SPIDERS OR SNAKES HERE ,JUST A NICE LONG SUMMER FULL OF DUCKS AND A NICE LONG CLEAN SNOWY WINTER WITH DEAR MOOSE AND BEAR, STARRPAUL@ROGERS.YAHOO.COM

  7. *** said,

    WOW!! I don’t know how you cope with that!.. lol ..i run at the first sight of any spider and here in england they’re tiny!.. lol

  8. PapiCulo said,

    here in south florida we got all kinds of spiders, but one in particular weaves its web at night only and breaks it all up by morning. The web is really strong and wirey and this brown hairy spider gets the to the size of a silver dollar. I have never had a primal scream in my life until I walked into its web one night a few months ago! That night I got in touch with my feminine side!!

  9. James T. said,

    That’s sooo cool… I love arachnids. I also love to squish them, so don’t take me wrong. I actually let the house spiders live and breed freely in my spice/flour cupboard so that they can control the itty bitty little bugs that try to infest my dry goods. My 10yr old niece opened the cupboard a few months ago and just freaked that she was staring at a few large females doing their rounds. HaHaHa That’ll keep her from snooping around my home looking for my chocolate stash.

Leave a Reply

