Why do I love cats???

August 15, 2008 at 2:06 am (Cats, Uncategorized) ()

1218791209-hr-3933

A lot of people wonder why I love cats so much.

At work I have quite a few cat things around me and I am pretty much known in the office as the crazy cat lady.

Firstly, I would like to say I love ALL animals, but cats just happen to be my favourites.

Why do I love cats in particular you ask?

Well, I love big cats because they are the perfect predator on land, and until man came along they were no doubt on the top of the food chain. For this they certainly deserve respect. They manifest the ultimate, to me, in power and beauty. They are perfectly suited to their habitat yet still have to struggle to survive and raise their young.

I love domestic cats because they still in quite a lot of ways do the things their big relatives do but in a smaller way.

I love that they are independant and that they can\’t really be trained. (A bit like me haha)

I know a lot of people are down on them particularly here in Australia where they have been blamed for the extinction or near extinction of several indigenous species.

But it is not the cats fault. It is the owners that abandon them or don\’t get them fixed that are to blame and it is in the cats nature to hunt and that isn\’t their fault either.

Anyway, mostly I love the soft fur behind their ears and their big round eyes. And the tufts of fur between their toes. And their little noses and whiskers. And the way their furs shines in the sunlight. And the way they purr when you pet them.

They know when you are down and they will spend more time with you.

Apparently it has been scientifically proven that a cats purr is partly a healing sound. This could be why they purr when they are in pain.

So that is why I love cats. But most of all I love my cats.

Here they are on an old quilt on the couch. That is about the close as they will get to each other. They don\’t really get along.

Thats all for today.

Love Me xxxxxxx

7 Comments

  1. Mac said,

    I like meowing to them and watching them meow back to me 🙂

  2. James T. said,

    It’s true… you can’t own a cat, they just tolerate certain people more than others. They treat other cats the same way, too. When we got Blackbean and I held him for the first time it was as if all of my stress was instantly sucked out and sent away. I wish I hadn’t waited so long to get a kitty, but then I wouldn’t have found such a nice one. He wakes me up by kissing me on the lips in the middle of the night when he wants something. Really pushy about it too. Meow.

  3. Bowzer said,

    I…errrrr…ah…ummmmmmmmmmmm…

  4. Bowzer said,

    WHAT’S WRONG WITH DOGS??????????

  5. Bowzer said,

    *sob, sniffle*

  6. neuroaster said,

    Cats don’t bark LOL 😀

    I’m a cat-person myself, and so is my online-friend http://ca.360.yahoo.com/rebnlou

  7. yp_carla_florissant said,

    Your babies are addorable!!!! I love cats tooo… They don’t Barkkkkk… And they go to the bathroom in a box ….. They are much Cleaner than ____……ttyl
    Carlaaa

Leave a Reply

