So, I haven\’t been blogging much lately…

January 25, 2008 at 3:29 pm (Art) (, , )

1201303746-hr-3294

mainly because things in my life have been fairly quiet.

I don\’t tend to write much poetry when things are pretty normal. I know its strange but I only seem to write poetry if I am in love or in pain or have become introspective.

I also haven\’t been doing a lot of drawing or doodling. I must slap myself on the wrist because I really need to be doing more creative things.

Anyway, I thought I would post a photo of an old drawing and painting I did back in 1985… wow that seems such a long time ago but then again only like yesterday.

At that time I was going out with a fiddle player and he was very good, so I decided I would do a painting for him as a present. I often did that for my boyfriends.

So firstly I did a drawing in pencil, then I worked on the painting which is done in oils, which I really used to love, because they don\’t dry overnight so you can come back the next day and rework them.

I haven\’t done an oil painting for such a long time and I would love to do one but the materials are very expensive and just at the moment with all my lawyers bill I really can\’t afford it.

Needless to say I split up with the fiddle player before I finished the painting so, I still have it. Which is good I think because I do like it in a funny kind of way.

The painting looks a lot nicer in real life because the colours are very rich, this is because the painting started off completely yellow and I built up transparent layers to make the colour of the wood.

Anyway that is my story of the day.

 

Love Me xxxxx

9 Comments

  1. Scribbler Girl said,

    SO in other words, you worked like the old masters! by building up in Glazes! I love that! It is very nice….You know I noticed it on your wall right off the bat, that and also the cats. Can you post the cats please? You know what I love? In the oil paintings the old Yellowish/orangish/goldish tints the colors have after you glaze them transparently like that! Darker transparent Galzes are nice for depth also…Thanks for your post, you are full of suprises! AMAZING!
    PS: It is lucky you did not give this to your old fiddle-playing flame! Because it is so nice! HEY I CAN PLAY FIDDLE TOO!!! LOL

  2. Scribbler Girl said,

    I was just looking at some of my violins and was thinking also, that these insturments were really “glazed” in much the same way as oil paintings…you can see through to the wood, yet there are many layers sometimes…yet it still “breaths” as wood does…unlike a opaque paint would allow…

  3. Anonymous said,

    You are very gifted. Thanks for sharing your talents with us 🙂

  4. William J said,

    thanks for posting!

  5. Anonymous said,

    Lovely painting of the Violins…And yes, I agree, you should be painting more…May I give you a ‘push start shove?” :-))

  6. Curtis said,

    my grandfather played a fiddle lol

  7. Anonymous said,

    Very nice work. You are rather talented. Have a great day

  8. Anonymous said,

    The painting is absolutely beautiful!! Glad you didn’t get to give it to him.

  9. Angel Jin said,

    I only seem to write poetry if I am in love or in pain or have become introspective.
    ____Yes,me too most of times

Leave a Reply

