About a year ago…

December 7, 2007 at 4:03 pm (Uncategorized)

1197072237-hr-3148

our department moved into a new office building in the university campus.

For those of you that read my blog on a regular basis you may remember my post about my new digs.

If not here we are one year on and settled in.

Here is a photo of my desk. I sit here all day.

And the view from our window, which is very nice.

An above cubicle view of the floor.

And my meerkat peering over the cubicle wall.

I kind of feel like we are all little meerkats down in our burrows and when there is a bit of commotion we all stand up to see what is going on.

We have been told by management we are not allowed to talk over our cubicle walls. Are we in kindy or what?

When they made the decision to go open plan I think they should have realized that this would be a rather noisy environment and those who were used to being in single offices would have to adapt.

Noise in the workplace doesn\’t bother me unless it is construction or something similar. I find it very easy to block out people talking and things like that if I am busy.

Anyway, now you have some idea of where I spend most of my days.

Love Me xxxxxxxxx

10 Comments

  1. William J said,

    great stuff! of course u know i love the meerkat – i remember when we all went to the cubicle environment, it was positioned as ethospace – a way to encourage teaming and communication, well after a couple of years, everyone’s cell phones were ringing and people just could not concentrate, people were bringing in machines to cut out the white noise and it was crazy – i guess it still is, but i have moved on and am no longer at that company

  2. Anonymous said,

    Can’t help but wonder if you get the comic strip “Dilbert” down under….lotsa “cubicle humor.” It’s what I was reminded of whilst viewing your office. I’ve always worked outdoors, or different construction sites indoors, Can’t imagine being stuck at the same desk every day. I imagine it’s not too bad as long as your busy. Otherwise…nice digs! 🙂

  3. Anonymous said,

    I love observation comparing workers in cubies, coming up from time to time just like the Meerkats and having one looking on as things move on during the day is just a wonderful touch. A truely unique idea for someone just as unique and creative. I love the series made by cables, Animal Plant, Meerkat Manor. If you haven’t seen it, you should try. Take care….Hambone

  4. blue dream said,

    your office is so beatuiful,the vision is great!!

  5. Curtis said,

    I do remember. how times flies wow

  6. Anonymous said,

    wah wah wahhhhhhh lol jkn it looks like view i could stand my job i cant see thing cept my machine and tons more round me no windows nada be nice see outside now then well i guess i do i cheat run out side now then lol ,,, but cameras catch ya no matter where u go so far never been told anything but i know is being watched

  7. Anonymous said,

    Ahh the meerkat is looking out for threats, such as management…..

  8. Anonymous said,

    Happy Holidays and Warm wishes to you on this Merry season! Cool new Workspace lol on the No talking over the cubicle rule…i can imagine you having to cyber chat to other cubicles and being within a few paces of one another..lol oh wellz Congrats on your new digs!

  9. Anonymous said,

    So you adapt, I bet all of you have yahoo messenger and chat back and forth quietly just as Management asked you to 🙂 Gawd I love the workplace lol

  10. Anonymous said,

    Over the wall cubical chat is part of it…I just put on my headphones and turn on my I-Pod to block out the unnecessary chatter….plus, I work better with the music blaring…

Leave a Reply

