Possum Antics…

November 2, 2007 at 5:25 pm (Uncategorized)

1194049526-hr-2977

The other night I was standing on my front steps talking to my neighbour when two gorgeous Ringtail possums appeared in the tree.

Here is a photo of one of them.

They are so cute.

Now before I start getting messages telling me this isn\’t a possum, it is.

It is an Australian possum NOT an American one.

There is a HUGE difference.

We have a few varieties of possums here in Australia.

The Ringtail is one of them, the another is a Brushtail and there are others.

They are beautiful creatures that manage to live in urban areas despite being hit by cars, electrocuted on overhead wires and attacked by domestic animals.

They can be very noisy when they run across the roof at 4 am or indeed if they make a home in your roof they can be even noisier.

They make a very very strange mating sound like an odd kind of hissing/growl, it used to scare the crap out of me when I was a child.

But now the sounds of the possums at night make me feel secure somehow.

I love possums, they are adorable and I love that they are able to live amongst us in the city.

 

Love Me xxxxxx

17 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    i hate possums. at least the american ones. they scare me to death,

  2. Anonymous said,

    arent creatures of nature great? I love just watching most any creature do its thing ….
    and I too will be here on 360 until the last bubble surfaces from the sinking ship …. if it does in fact sink

  3. Anonymous said,

    They are sooooo cute!oh,yeah.nice to meet you im Jade.you can see my blog if uyou want.

  4. William J said,

    i like ’em too!

  5. Anonymous said,

    What a beautiful animal…

  6. Anonymous said,

    actually it’s the first time i’ve seen that kind of creature. then, i feel interested. hihi. i’m Ninh, from Vietnam. nice to meet u.

  7. Anonymous said,

    Cooie !

    Lovely to have such creatures living about your house.
    We have plenty of squirrel, a few bunnies and a plain old gray possums, here in Ohio. Nothing like you have.

  8. Lisa said,

    I agree the Possum is a cute creature. Even though I live in the USA, we have an abundance of possum in our area. One summer night, we heard a loud crunching moise, and at first thought it was our cat eating her late night snack. Well, that is partially correct. A possum had entered our through our bedroom window (we had removed the screen so the cat could enter and leave) and was sitting on the window sill eating our cats dinner. So cute!!. Another time, we went into the garage to do some auto work, and when going to reach for a tool in a back corner, discovered a baby possum sleeping soundly. Even though the Austrailian version of the possum, has bright coloring, I believe they are very cute, Aussie or American.

  9. Doug said,

    Actually the American opossum and the Australian possum are more alike than dissimmilar. The opossum (often called possum) is a marsupial. I have to admit, the Australian possum is far cuter.

    I got to our blog because it is featured on Yahoo. How do you manage to do that?

  10. JD said,

    I have never seen a live possom before all the one’s I see are road kill.
    I heard they are vicious? cool post Fluffy

  11. Anonymous said,

    This is so neat ,love the animals , we grow use to the normal sounds and I bet it puts you to sleep now . Hi , I am spicey and will not give my page up until it’s taken away . Don’t think that will happen.Very good story my dear ,come visit me . Smile

  12. Anonymous said,

    y’all are lucky to have several kinds of ‘possums Down Under. I love our ‘Possums here in the US, even when they give me the evil eye. My friend Jebediah Buzzard likes them with sweet ‘taters. I’m not sure if this applies to Aussie ‘Possums (not to be confused with Awesome ‘Possums) but when you bury one, always make sure the head is facing down. Otherwise, it can see to dig it’s way out.

  13. fushia98 said,

  14. fushia98 said,

    They are so much cuter than the American possum.

  15. dollydonna2 said,

    About a month ago I was outside on my sundeck playing with some new kitties with a laser light. I was sitting on the edge of my lounger. I turned to look down behind me, as I thought I heard another baby kitten. Wow! When I looked down one of our American possums was about 1 inch from my heel. I jumped up so fast from fear, I scared the poor little critter to death. I love most anything of nature, but when it comes to possums, I would rather them a few feet away instead of 1 inch from my heel. Enjoyed your blog, glad I stopped to visit you.
    take care
    Dollydonna

  16. Anonymous said,

    I’ve always feed Possums – Even as a child.
    I have one now called ‘Thumper’ and he’s as big as a 10 month old child..No Kidding and he does thump along the wooden fence for his treats.
    At the old place I had to cross the road and I feed about 101 of them in Katani Gardens.
    I’ll send you a few pictures.
    L Mich

  17. Anonymous said,

    well i dont like them eather love snakes any of the creapy things lol but maby i can love u tho lollol

Leave a Reply

