What Easter Means to Me…

April 5, 2007 at 2:39 am (Uncategorized)

1175765966-hr-1778

My mother spending hours and hours in the kitchen cooking special Russian Easter food, Kulich and Paskha. Colouring hard boiled eggs in pretty colours.

Going to midnight mass at the Russian Orthodox Church on Saturday night standing in the churchyard with candles as the procession proceeds around the church singing.

Returning home in the early hours of the morning finally being able to actually eat the food my mother had cooked.

Waking up in the morning and getting presents for the coming winter like fluffy slippers and of course, chocolate eggs.

I have only once attempted to do the cooking that mum did for our family every year. That was in 2003 when she broke her hip just before Easter, so I cooked the Russian food for her and took it to her in hospital. A few months after that she had a stroke and never cooked for us again.

I miss the tradition that my mother loved so much. If I had children no doubt I would pass this tradition on to them. But for the time being I just remember Easter as being a time of love and contemplation for my mother and her family.

Last year I was moving house and too busy to really think about how wonderful Easter was for me growing up.

This year I realise just how much love my mother had for her family and how she showed it by creating a glorious feast for us all every Easter.

 

Love Me xxx

 

P.S. Photo of Kulich, hard to describe, a sweet kind of bread with fruit is as close as I can get, and Paskha, sweet soft cheese also with fruit. Both are just delicious but extremely hard to cook.

Click here to read more…

 

25 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    thank you for sharing your beautiful Easter memories Fluffy. I hope you have a special Easter this year and are able to enjoy company with loved ones. hugs and kisses to you my dear friend. xoxoxo

  2. Anonymous said,

    A great memory I’ll bet.Please say a prayer for my brother dear,he is having another operation to remove a mass of scar tissue.He is always in so much pain I hope this gives him some relief.Hope you have a great Easter my friend,And glad you are feeling better.(((Fluffy)))00 god bless..

  3. Anonymous said,

    i tried to recreate my moms Easter dinner once. It was very difficult. Pizza Hut refused to sell me their recipe.
    Its lovely that you can look back and have such wonderful Easter memories. i hope this years Easter will have lots of magical moments for you to remember. Please have a safe and happy Easter.

  4. Anonymous said,

    Thanks for sharing. The bread and cheese with fruit sounds like it would be delicious.

  5. Anonymous said,

    Hey Fluffy – being Greek Orthodox, I could see some similarities. We are fortunate to still be able to keep our family Easter traditions going, even though the family dynamics have changed with my dad being in a nursing home and my mum living at my sister’s house. It is so sad when one of the parents is not well but we have the grandchildren to think of and hopefully they will have the same warm memories that we have around Easter!

  6. Toni A said,

    Religious Holidays are always full of memories. Lucky for those of us who have special ones. Peace

  7. Anonymous said,

    Sounds like some very cherished memories, i might just have to try some Kulich and Paskha, the description of sweet cheese i love cheese never really had some i would desribe as sweet, and the bread sounds yummy too, my favorites were cabury eggs and peeps those sweet treats remind me its easter…sorry i have a sweet tooth! Have a
    Happy Easter!

  8. Bowzer said,

    One thing that 360 has taught me is that Easter is quite special in some parts of the world. One friend, of Hungarian extraction, told a magical story of how guys must spray ladies with water or perfume, in exchange for a kiss and a red egg. Now you have helped me have a little glimpse into Russian Easter customs. Thanks for sharing your magical memories too, FB. Kulich and paskha both sound delicious, BTW!

  9. ♥♥♥ r o s e said,

    easter…. memories… different customs all over the world… memories…
    bowzer i know about the easter sprinkling… i think it is tradition in sweden also, remember to Astrid Lindgreens children of Bullerbü, the girls have to get up early at easter morning, before sunsrise and go to water and wash and the boy they will meet next will be her love her husband, dont know if i really know all… but you can read it… nice traditions all over, i think it is similar habbit in bavaria, Germany…
    eastertime- spring time, all over the world spring is celebreted in christian country the rising of Jesus to give world hope to live….

  10. Aamir said,

    Beautiful blog. Simply beautiful. Take care

  11. Curtis said,

    food looks great , never had sweet cheese,but most cheeses are great, have a happy eater sweet thangggggggggggggggggggggggg

  12. Anonymous said,

    I NEVER THOUGHT OF RUIT IN CHEESE IS IT DELICIOUS?
    BUT YOUR BLOG IS NICE HAPPY EASTER

  13. Anonymous said,

    Me too, me too, I have the same traditions. I am Christian Ortdodox, so it is almost the same ritual, almost the same food. Kulik… here it is the Italian Panettone, perhaps people know this. And, yes, my mom does all the cooking before, hours and hours in the kitches, and I’ve never helped her… Shame on me, I only ate like a pig when I was still in Romania…

  14. vickie_bowie said,

    Such nostalgic and sweet memories, thank you so much for sharing them. I hope you are able to capture some of those cherished old feelings in upcoming holidays, as well as create new traditions and memories.

  15. Anonymous said,

    I really enjoy hearing about different family traditions during the holdiay- Thank you for sharing

  16. Anonymous said,

    Smiles…it’s wonderful to hear you reflect about your childhood-so rich with memories. leaves you a hug

  17. Anonymous said,

    Fluffy, its very kind of you to do the cooking that your mother so much loved. My Easter was a bit different too. This year my sister cooked it for us and it was great, my mom was relieved that she didnt have to cook it and we all met at Alvie’s house for a change

  18. carebear said,

    I love that easter is a holiday to celebrate christ and the love that he gave us.It’s also a time to get together with family.this easter we told my husbands mother that she didnt need to make a big dinner we would just come over and visit for awhile. she needed a break so we just had our easter dinner here.that was a very sweet thing you did for your mom i wish you the best.

  19. carebear said,

    I love that easter is a holiday to celebrate christ and the love that he gave us.It’s also a time to get together with family.this easter we told my husbands mother that she didnt need to make a big dinner we would just come over and visit for awhile. she needed a break so we just had our easter dinner here.that was a very sweet thing you did for your mom i wish you the best.

  20. Anonymous said,

    that’s looks yummy…. *drooling here*

  21. Debi said,

    do you know the real meaning of Easter? Jesus died for your sins so that you can live in eternity by believing in him and that he died for your sins and rose again on Easter. Believe it. Your life on this earth is a blink of an eye compared to your life in eternity. Don’t spend it burning in the lake of fire (Hades)

  22. Yvette said,

    I think the closest you can get to Kulich is the italian Pannetone. I cook a lot of what my late Grandma cooked for holidays, Russian Easter foods too.

  23. L.R said,

    I`m from romania and we have the same EASTER traditions…colored eggs,lamb and “the resurection night”

  24. dorit r said,

    hello Fluffybut! nice to meet you. i am looking now detective movie about Al Pachino. do you like him? before I had black & white cat. but she lost. I was in love with her so much.She was sleep with me and make that spesial MMMMMMMMMMMRRRRRRRR.

  25. Anonymous said,

    LOOks like you miss your mom very much..hmm
    meanwhile..if you do have the recipes for the above dishes..do send me a message with recipes …if it is not too much trouble…much love
    guacie

Leave a Reply

