Ode to Truffles…

March 10, 2007 at 2:34 am (Cats, Poetry) (, )

1173522864-hr-1465

What is it about her?

That makes me feel so weak

The way she looks at me

The way she sleeps

The way she talks to me

In her funny little way

Even though I don’t understand

What the hell she is trying to say

Some people would say she is just a cat

But I know she is much more than that

With her heart beating so gently and light

She’s my companion through the darkest night

With her big yellow eyes, fluffy ears and tiny nose

Her silky soft fur, long whiskers and furry toes

Her beauty is nature, mysterious, sometimes wise

Sometime mischievous, and full of surprise

I’m in awe of her and all those of her kind,

If people can’t see this I think they are blind

For this little creature knows me so well

What time I come home, she needs no bell

To tell her its dinner time or that I am sad

She sits by me and purrs until I feel glad

That I am hers and she is mine

And then all the world feels fine.

 

 

 

 

 

Love Me xxxxxxxxxxxx

25 Comments

  1. Nigel B said,

    That is just lovely. It is a shame that some people out there in the big wide world do not understand how important animals are to there two legged slaves lol. By the way, I gave your t-shirt a 5 shame it didn’t pass the test.

  2. vickie_bowie said,

    I can totally relate to your lovely poem! Truffles is such a beauty, no wonder she inspired you to write it. I too am enchanted with my fur baby, Kali. I need to get some decent photos of her to put on my blog, the problem is she absolutely HATES the camera…hence most of the photos I take are of her sleeping, lol. You’re so lucky that Truffles appears to like posing!

  3. Anonymous said,

    I am not a cat person, however I can relate to how you feel. Thanks for sharing this with us..
    Zapp and Duchess (my best buddy and the cutest puppy on the planet)

  4. silkieladyinthecity said,

    Your sentiments for you cat are very much felt through this peice,’ I loved it”. I had a cat her name was Snow and she was All what you stated, I can tell you that everytime some-one came to the house she would actually jump up 5-6 time peeping the it, and then alert me we had company, she was amazineing I miss her very much. Thanks for posting this peice. Smiling.

  5. Anonymous said,

    Fluffy that was beautifully said.
    I looked into your eyes tonight and they remind me of a Siamese Cat.
    Well thats a compliment, as they say owners become like their pets and babies.
    In this case you have Siamese Eyes to me.
    L Mich

  6. Anonymous said,

    My two fluffy friends are a very important part of my life as well. My husband and I have been trying to have children for 4 years now. Our children for now are our “Princess Chloe” and our “Naughy Minky”. They amuse and entertain us with their ornery play and in the quiet lonely hours of the evening they comfort us with their gentle purrs. They depend on us and even if ever so selfishly, we depend on them.

  7. Anonymous said,

    😦 I want a cat again. My Bubbles (not the name I gave her) was given away by my ex-wife while I was out of town. Bubbles use to run into the office starting from the hallway. She would leap at the office door only hoping to land on my lap. Many times I would see her coming and would move right before she would land. But she would just turn around and jump on my lap anyway. LOL It was a fun game her and I played daily. Sometimes she would jump onto the desk and lay right where the mouse was at keeping me from using it.

  8. JD said,

    That is very cool fluffycat,I get it, almost made me purr 😉

  9. jackaloopa said,

    you always have a such a perfect way to put things into words…

  10. Anonymous said,

    So well written –good job

  11. Anonymous said,

    I can well understand your feelings. We had 8 cats, all rescue cats, and one by one they passed away through old age. We will not have any more as the pain in witnessing their passing away becomes too great to bear. But we miss their unselfish love and we can never pass by a cat without stopping to have a chat. I think only those who have had cats share their lives will understand this.

  12. Anonymous said,

    these beings that we refer to as “pets” actually make us their “pets” you know……..their unconditional Love is the key to the kingdom~ the Love we all search high & low for they offer with no strings attached…….may your heart be 90 percent feline by now and 10% human!
    Love & Light,
    -:¦:-¸..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
    ¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
    ((¸¸.·´ ..·´ -:¦:- Deonna
    -:¦:- ((¸¸.·´
    “I want you to get swept away. I want you to levitate. I want you to sing with rapture and dance like a dervish.” ~ Meet Joe Black (own this on DVD)

  13. Anonymous said,

    p.s. all the wonderful qualities you describe in your blog about your cat sound like the very same qualities that dwell within your human form that is you 🙂
    Love & Light,
    -:¦:-¸..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
    ¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
    ((¸¸.·´ ..·´ -:¦:- Deonna
    -:¦:- ((¸¸.·´
    “I want you to get swept away. I want you to levitate. I want you to sing with rapture and dance like a dervish.” ~ Meet Joe Black (own this on DVD)

  14. Anonymous said,

    p.s.s.
    if you lived closer and we knew each other better, I bet you’d sit by me & purr until I felt glad again!
    you are such a wonderful catwoman!
    Love & Light,
    -:¦:-¸..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
    ¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
    ((¸¸.·´ ..·´ -:¦:- Deonna
    -:¦:- ((¸¸.·´
    “I want you to get swept away. I want you to levitate. I want you to sing with rapture and dance like a dervish.” ~ Meet Joe Black (own this on DVD)

  15. Anonymous said,

    Reading your poem made me reminsce of my dearly departed friend, MaunaLoa, a Himalayan. He was lazier than Garfield, who lived for the A/C,food, to play, and just loved to be held. I can still remember him purring intensely and louder and faster as I would hold him…thanks for the memories!

  16. Anonymous said,

    I really love this poem. My cat and I agree that it sounds purrrfect. :>)

  17. Smurf said,

    Very nice. Cats are great….

    *******SMILES*******

  18. Anonymous said,

    I love cats. I used to have 30 cats and I loved everyone of then.Also every time it was dinner time my cats will run up on the porch for the food. But, every time one didn’t come I would go in to the woods and try to find them. I had one house cat I loved that cat so much. And I still got her. But I only have about 5 or 6 left. But my step mom had twins ,so she got kicked out. And now I always love on her till my bus arrives there. Now I normaly feed her caned food every day. And your poem\love about you cat was lovely.

  19. Gerard Singh said,

    Ha ha ha … I think you just absolutely love cats lady!!! When I used to keep fish, I had two really large TOMAN (Snakeheads), I felt the same way about them too LOL! I swear they were the most intelligent fish I ever had … they used to look at me the same way your cat looks at you. Well ok fine … so they didn’t exactly have the warmest of gazes … with them it was more a cold and fishy gaze (especially when they were hungry) LMAO!!!

  20. Anonymous said,

    A REAL CUTIE. I HAVE TWO CATS AND TWO SHIH TZOS. LOVE EM TO DEATH…

  21. Anonymous said,

    That is so beautiful, the cat is too, i have a huge fluffy white cat, I adore him that’s why i have Cat in my Id 🙂 !

  22. Bowzer said,

    Dog barks for several minutes at screen, losing his voice in the process. Then sends message to FB in sign language* That was a very, very nice poem, but…

    …for a C.A.T?????

  23. ♥♥♥ r o s e said,

    i also love cats so much.. i dont have one… but, if i would be alone, a cat would be my compaign… why? because cats have their own will, they come only when they want, they arent canine… and when they love to get pet, i love their purring, your fluffy is a beauty…

  24. Anonymous said,

    AWWWW I NEED A KITTY CAT….SOMEONE IS A VERY LUCKY GUY..(((fLUFFY)))00 god bless….

  25. Anonymous said,

    very sweet! Very well written…:)

Leave a Reply

