Today I saw something I haven’t seen in quite a while…

February 17, 2007 at 11:52 pm (Cats) ()

1171785159-hr-1192

I was standing on my back deck this morning watching my girls watching whatever they were watching, when all of a sudden Fluffybutt started scratching around in the leaves insanely. I had no idea what was up. I thought she saw a cockroach or a skink or something like that.

I picked up Truffles to give her a cuddle when she hissed, I looked over and saw not only that Harvey was suddenly on the scene but Fluffybutt had in her mouth, by the tail, a little mouse.

I put Truffles down and went to get my camera as Fluffybutt came towards me with her prey. Looking pretty darn pround of herself I might add.

But Harvey was stalking her, strangely enough she put the mouse down, which is when I took this photo, as she stared at Harvey who really, really wanted that mouse.

The mouse was still alive and so it ran into the bushes which sent both Harvey and Fluff scurrying after it. But she seemed a bit half hearted in her pursuit and Harvey emerged with the mouse fully in his mouth. He then jumped the fence and headed for home, I am sure to show his mum and dad what he had caught.

Its almost like Fluffy knew that she really did all the hard work and I saw her so she didn\’t need the mouse anymore.

I haven\’t seen Fluffy catch a mouse in ages, in fact I haven\’t seen her catch anything for ages.

Which is a good thing because I don\’t mind if she is catching mice or rats or bugs, but I don\’t like it if she is catching baby bush turkeys or any other wildlife.

That was my Sunday morning excitement.

Maybe I ought to send her over to Ireland to Karl.

 

Love Me xxxx

22 Comments

  1. basket_1960_420 said,

    i bet she was proud i use to have a spooky cat he was blck with three lil white patchs one on his neck and one on his belly and one one his privets and he was alway so proud when he caught some thing and he was the only cat taht i ever owned oh and he was a spooky cat he would scare the the pants of of you from time to time sneaking out from under the steps and grabbing at your leg in the dark but you do have a beautyful cat well i hope that you have a great sunday denise

  2. Anonymous said,

    Funny how cats are. the wierdest thing I have ever seen though was when i had this female wolf. she used to go out foraging in the woods and do what Fluffybutt did. She would catch mice and bring them back to show us what a good hunter she was. Funny, huh?

  3. Bowzer said,

    Typical. Woman does all the work, a guy takes all the credit.

  4. Anonymous said,

    how i wish your cat is mine…..i love cats!

  5. ♥♥♥ r o s e said,

    she dont need to show what she catched, she know she did and musnt show around to get said weldone…. she is a bit aristicat…isnt she?
    Wonderful pic of Fluffy and the little mouse

  6. Anonymous said,

    Dogs are just as nuts. My Emily caught a rat on night out in the yard and had to bring it in the house. Thank the lord I was asleep at the time and Hubby had to deal with it.I also have 2 cats.One who is sooo black we call her the Black Hole. You never see her even when she’s right there.And she’s here right now..I think!

  7. Anonymous said,

    Great Picture, poor mousie 🙂

  8. Anonymous said,

    Just like a male eh…she did all the work and away he goes with the prize..lol…a lovely share,ty.have a wonderful week and send some of your great music (((Fluffy)))00 god bless..

  9. Bart said,

    Sounds like Fluffy is a good hunter, she looks so serious standing over her catch, just like a cat in the wild might do. I had a cat who would catch squirrels and chew off the head and leave the body in front of my door, one of my cats now loves to eat olives and I had another cat who wouldn’t eat a piece of fish or shrimp but loved nacho cheese Doritoes.

  10. John said,

    Fluffy just wanted to show she was earning her keep around the house.;)

  11. Anonymous said,

    Oh, thats funny, I have two cats myself, Thomas recently brought me two squirls within the last 2 weeks, unfortunatly they were dead, so I had to bury them. I realize they are gifts for me, so I can’t really scold him…. Oh what to do. I live it the desert in Arizona and I also worry about him getting the cute little quail. But I love my cats anyway, they are my companions. Have fun with your babies.

  12. Anonymous said,

    I used to have a cat that color – best cat I ever had – good huntress, too.

  13. Anonymous said,

    that reminds me of one of the old farm cats we had when I was a youngin’. One night she caught a baby rabbit and brought it squealing into my parents’ bedroom at 3 am. Another time, on Father’s Day, she came in with a dead squirrel and left it beside my dad’s recliner as he napped.

  14. Anonymous said,

    Great pic to catch the moment !

  15. Anonymous said,

    tour familiar loves you

  16. Anonymous said,

    I’ve been searching all over our house looking for that mouse! Tell Fluffy she earned x-tra rashions, very good kitty.:>)

  17. Truculent Trencherman™ said,

    send congratulations to Fluffybutt

  18. Bellemai said,

    Harvey is such a typical guy: let the girl do the work and then “catch” it himself and strut home…I bet he was cute as could be with it, too!

  19. Anonymous said,

    what a beautiful cat but I agree with Belle’s comment too! LOL

  20. Anonymous said,

    I love the picture, great timing 🙂

  21. sophistocatty said,

    what a great picture. My own 2 cats (you can see in my blog) only play with those smaller than themselves as well, to the point of opening a grasshoppers legs to pick it up gently from the middle. But what would we do without our animals?! lol

  22. Anonymous said,

    Oh so cute! I’m glad you caught her in action and got us a picture. What a sweet kitty!

Leave a Reply

