Where Do I Live?….

January 8, 2007 at 3:27 pm (Uncategorized)

1168298844-hr-743

Sounds Of Then Lyrics

musician: Gangajang

I think I hear the sounds of then,
And people talking,
The scenes recalled, by minute movement,
And songs they fall, from the backing tape.
That certain texture, that certain smell,

To lie in sweat, on familiar sheets,
In brick veneer on financed beds.
In a room, of silent hardiflex
That certain texture, that certain smell,

Brings home the heavy days,
Brings home the night time swell,

Out on the patio we’d sit,
And the humidity we’d breathe,
We’d watch the lightning crack over canefields
Laugh and think, this is Australia.

The block is awkward – it faces west,
Long diagonals, and sloping too.
And in the distance, through the heat haze,
In convoys of silence the cattle graze.

That certain texture, that certain beat,
Brings forth the night time heat.

Out on the patio we’d sit,
And the humidity we’d breathe,
We’d watch the lightning crack over canefields
Laugh and think that this is Australia.

To lie in sweat, on familiar sheets,
In brick veneer on financed beds.
In a room of silent hardiflex
That certain texture, that certain smell,

Brings forth the heavy days,
Brings forth the night time sweat

Out on the patio we’d sit,
And the humidity we’d breathe,
We’d watch the lightning crack over canefields
Laugh and think, this is Australia.

Out on the patio we’d sit,
And the humidity we’d breathe,
We’d watch the lightning crack over canefields
Laugh and think, this is Australia.

This is Australia, this is Australia, this is Australia…

TO WATCH THE VIDEO OF THE SONG CLICK HERE

 

Love Me xoxoxox

 

Photo of my city during a summer storm.

22 Comments

  1. Bart said,

    That is such a cool picture, kind of like the fingers of God coming down from the sky, did you take this ?

  2. Anonymous said,

    No I didn’t take it but its fantastic isn’t it…

  3. Anonymous said,

    Nice tune,kewl pic..think i would like to visit Australia some day ty for the share.

  4. Anonymous said,

    Very nice pic and lyrics. I could almost smell the summer heat and ozone from the lightning.

  5. Anonymous said,

    Sounds like Houston too…. but wonderful lyrics none the less. Love the picture! I’ll check out the song when I get home.

  6. Anonymous said,

    a very sensual piece. I’ve spent most of my life in rural America, and I don’t normally think of beauty when I think of cities, but that song and picture make me see it in a different light.

  7. Bowzer said,

    YEEEK! That’s quite a picture! And nice lyrics, too. From a band (?) I haven’t heard of. I once saw Tommy Emmanuel play ‘Initiation’ live, which was pretty good too, but that’s a pure instrumental of course.

  8. Anonymous said,

    love the photo… love ya…

  9. Truculent Trencherman™ said,

    cool poem. It is very cool to be able to look at lighning storms in a city. I live where I can see Lake Michigan and it is even cooler to see the storms as they pass over the lake.

  10. Anonymous said,

    Awesome pic!

  11. Anonymous said,

    my gosh that picture is BEAUTIFUL!!! thank you for sharing! i’ll have to show it to my son later – he adores storm pics!! *BIG HUGS*

  12. Anonymous said,

    fantastic pic and song, great job, have a good rest!

  13. Curtis said,

    looks like you live by water or ocean, anyway nice pic

  14. Restless River Seeks Open Sea said,

    This is really cool pic and song dear, and oh, what poetry to describe the immense beauty that is Australia!

  15. Euqram said,

    Love your cat…Song was good with the lyrics..I looked at the album. wonderful pics, really like the birds…It looks very peaceful where your at…Thank you for sharing friend…

  16. Anonymous said,

    I like to pic, FBB…I have never heard of the song though! Your city looks so nice.

  17. Anonymous said,

    very interesting blog!

  18. Anonymous said,

    HAIL TO THE CHEEF

  19. Trippinjimi said,

    Amazing photo,great song,groovy person,you’re the tops Fluffy.

  20. Anonymous said,

    This is such a cool picture. When I was a child we lived in a high-rise with huge picture window from which I would watch the thunder-storms. I once saw a large tree struck.

  21. joseph said,

    The summer lightning of southeast New Mexico is just as dramatic as the picture you shared. Also, gravy insight to your wonderous country!

  22. Anonymous said,

    I enjoyed these lyrics also and the photo was intriging (sp). I wish I looked as lovely as my cat, you and your’s are a Kool match.

Leave a Reply

