Hello Viewers….

January 6, 2007 at 6:27 pm (Uncategorized)

1168136861-hr-697

So, today I had planned to tell you about one of my all time favourite films \”Rashomon\” directed by Akira Kurosawa.

What was the point of that, I hear you wondering. The point of this great film is that is deals with the notion of truth and that everyone has their version of the truth, so who\’s version is really true?

Anyway, I was watching it again late last night and fell asleep.

Instead I say to you, if you can see this film you must do so. It was made in the fifties and it is black and white with subtitles and possibly some overacting, OMG, I hear some of you thinking, but it truly is a film that will make you think, and that is my truth, so maybe its not true to you. Confused? No neither am I.

In the meantime, I was casually walking past my bedroom this morning to find my two girls sharing my bed! I was shocked, this is only the third time in over two years that they have done this.

I had to take a photo and prove it, just like I did last time. Hahaha.

I hope everyone is having a great weekend. See you soon.

 

Love Me xxxxxx

10 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    Akira Kurosawa was my hero. I once wanted to be a film director. The Seven Samurai and Kagemusha are my favourite films. And what is the film that the Star wars movies are based on? BTW-Roshomon was/is an excellent film.

  2. Anonymous said,

    I will have to check that movie out. One of my favorite movies is Antarctica. Instead of subtitles they actually dubbed in English. Then last year there was an American remake of the film, I think it was called Six Below. It had a much happier ending than Antarctica. But the original was a bit more detailed in it’s telling as it was based on a true story.

  3. Mac said,

    Sounds like your two girl cats enjoy being comfy on your bed. I hope you showed them a big smile 🙂

  4. Bowzer said,

    I have seen it. Yes it’s histrionic but that as the accepted norm for the time and place. A powerful message. And as for the cats…hmmmmmmmmmm, cats…

  5. Anonymous said,

    there’s nothing quite like old cinema obscura, especially foreign films. I’d like to see more Indian films, of any era. I love how they mix genres at times, like one minute you think it’s a drama then all of a sudden everyone just bursts into song and it becomes a musical. Yeah, Hollywood definately doesn’t possess a monopoly on great films, but we’ll just let them think they do.

  6. galews said,

    It sounds like an interesting film. I enjoy the perspective other cultures give to a theme, and I will have to look for this one.

    thanks for the compliments on my “boys” I will pass it on. they sleep together all the tim, and I have to admit, they help keep the bed warm in the winter.

  7. Bellemai said,

    lol -your girls reminded me – I’ll have to find the one pic I have of Princess, who HATED Baby, curled up sleeping with him in our pink recliner! The last month she was alive, she seemed to tolerate him better. Maybe he wasn’t trying to play with her as much, lol! The film sounds interesting, I’ll have to see if I can find it. Paul would probably like it too. He really likes things that make you think.

  8. Anonymous said,

    i wonder how I could get ahold of that here in the states. i am trying to expand my horizons as far as not just reading books from the best seller list and finding movies that are a bit “off-the-hook” like this one seems to be. Any hints on how I may find it and get ahold of a copy?

  9. Bart said,

    I have 2 male cats, Spike and Saturn, they grew up together as kittens so they are like brothers, thats a good picture with your two kitties and that colorful beadspread.

  10. Anonymous said,

    I will have to check that movie out.

Leave a Reply

