Putting Out the Fire With Gasoline…

November 18, 2006 at 10:50 pm (Art, Drawing, Music)

1163919032-hr-201

Mmmm Cat People. Who out there remembers that film?

 

Yesterday I bought myself a gorgeous coffee table book called \”Spirit of the Wild Cat\” It is a large, lush book full of photographs of big cats from all over the world.

Just an amazing book on all accounts and so I was inspired by this book to do some drawing.

So here for your viewing pleasure is my drawing on black paper of a black leopard.

Confusingly it is also known as a black panther as is the black jaguar. Jaguars live in South America and leopards live in Africa.

Anyway if you like you can also enjoy David Bowie singing the song that came with the film \”Cat People\”

Enjoy, have a great week!

Love Me xxxx

8 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    Great drawing, really draws you into the eyes !

  2. Anonymous said,

    I ever so much wish that I had been into photography when I lived in Africa. There is a special beauty of a wild big cat eyeing you and no bars to seperate. What a thrill!
    Beautiful pic! Your tallent to capture with other media is fabulous.

  3. JD said,

    My favourite wild cats are Black panthers & Jaguars.
    Cat people was very cool & that Bowie song is a favourite of mine,That picture you did Rocks & is how I imagine a black panther – Leopard -Jaguar would like to be seen.
    Jaguars are my car of choice,I bet you like the Chrome leaper on the bonnet of those Fluffy ,actually you being a cat person ,a Jag would suit you ;)a classic Jag .

  4. [deleted] said,

    I don’t know the movie…or at least I don’t remember it, but I love cats. Well, I love most all animals, but cats are one of my favorites. This drawing is beautiful! I agree that the eyes do draw you in. But why do they have to give the same cat so many differant NAMES?! I always have been confused by that, and my children are young so it’s now their turn to be confused. LOL

  5. Anonymous said,

    hi! i saw you on the start page so i figured I’d have a look. Great blog! Yes, I remember Cat People, though I have never watched it. But I had Bowie’s song on a 45! That’s a tune that should pop on classic rock stations for sure.

  6. Anonymous said,

    Lol I was a wild cat in highschool. thanks for the memories.

  7. Anonymous said,

    I’m not sure about that one, but I do remember a T.V. show called Manimal. I loved it when he turned into a Black Panther, that being my favorite big cat. Manimal was a short lived television series that ran from September 30, 1983 to December 17, 1983 on ABC. It was about a shape-shifting man who could turn himself into any animal. Opening narration: “Dr. Jonathan Chase is a wealthy, young, and handsome man with the brightest of futures with a very dark past. From Africa’s deepest recesses, to the rarest peaks of Tibet, heir to his father’s legacy, and the world’s darkest mysteries is Jonathan Chase, master of the secrets that divide man from animal, animal from man, Manimal.” Simon MacCorkindale as Jonathan Chase.
    All text is available under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License. (See Copyrights for details.) Wikipedia® is a registered trademark of the Wikimedia Foundation, Inc., a US-registered 501(c)(3) tax-deductible nonprofit charity.

  8. Anonymous said,

    oops got carried away & totally forgot to comment on your beautiful drawing. Stunning. I love it. I hope you don’t mind but I took a copy of it for my own personal viewing, but with your name tag attached with the TM.

Leave a Reply

