I\’m in Love with Pre Loved….

November 10, 2006 at 11:44 pm (Uncategorized)

1163231060-hr-166

…there is nothing I love more than going to scratch around in junk shops and charity stores.(well that may be a slight exaggeration, there probably is something I love more)

 

I am a firm believer in buying things second hand, recycling is good for us and good for the earth. And hey, I got my big velvet lounge for $120 and that is one amazing lounge, and my purple docs for $4, so if you aren\’t buying pre-loved, you don\’t know what you are missing. And lets face it we are all pre-loved if you really think about it. Haha.

 

This morning Pam, (my neighbour/work colleague, another graphic designer) and I, went off to a big garage sale that a church in the city was having.

 

We browsed the funny little kitsch things and filled up a couple of boxes with things we picked out of the jumble.

 

But sitting alone, on the floor in the corner was this little childs rocker, a metal one like the ones we used to have when we were kids. I was drawn to this rocker and looked at it a few times as we passed by.

 

When we were about to make our way out, no one had bought it, so I said to Pam \”Should I buy this?\” and she said \”Yes go on its so cute!\” And mind you it cost all of $1.

 

So there it sits on my deck. Did I buy it for the child I once was, my inner child or the child I never had. Who knows.

 

Somehow it\’s sad and joyful all at once.

 

Probably the favourite toy of a child  in the 1960\’s or 70\’s,  I would think,  as I have not seen one quite like that for a very long time.

 

Oh my little rocker. Not an inch of plastic on you,  just metal, wood, a bit of rust and lots of memories.

 

Love Me xxxx

 

And can someone tell me why everything was painted that strange green colour back then? I also bought a little wooden stool for $2 painted in the same colour, it reminded me of the one my dad made for me when I was a little squirt and couldn\’t reach the light switches in the house.

9 Comments

  1. ♥♥♥ r o s e said,

    remembers to childhoood…. smile… can you sill sit in in and rock?
    I enjoy sitting on a swing and swing as high feeling i am flying to the sky.. and i feel like a little girl again, sometimes we need so sentimental moments… and.. i also love to look around on fleemarkets and sometimes buy something, like the earrings you see on my pic…. i love them…

  2. Anonymous said,

    i remember rockers exactly like that, of course you know what it needs now, a great big cuddly teddy bear to sit in it:-)

  3. Anonymous said,

    That particular green was meant to calm and sooth the child. They should paint cars that color. LOL

  4. JD said,

    Yeah amazing things you find ,I like car boot sales,you can get a few gems if you’re lucky before the dealers buy & hike the prices.I still have my childrens bikes,they are old & ragged but when I look at them I see them riding on them with big beaming smiles,Is it wrong to have sentimental feelings for things,I don’t think so.

  5. [deleted] said,

    I wasn’t even around then…but I have seen my share of that color. LOL. It sits in my master bathroom in the form of toilet and sink. LOL. Can we say “update needed”? Anyway, I can however relate somewhat to this. I have children…but my childhood was cut dramatically short, so the things I do remeber as a child..I miss greatly. At least Barbie is still around! And hey…my kids are girls! LOL. How lucky am I? I can play Babrbies and no one would think too much of it. But inside Iwould be loving every second of it. ***sigh***

  6. Anonymous said,

    well i guess ive been tagged i’ll have to figure out this 360 thing. love ur site. have a very merry christmas eve and beyond. im gonna think of my weirdest stuff so i wont be thinking of sadness for christmas. thanks for tagging me. helps me deal with this life. some people say its easy…even me at one time but, now it the hardest of my life. thanks for making it easier.

  7. Tess' Chevalier [Listig the HomERphobe] said,

    Yeh, that “puke green” was so in back then, and I’ll never understand it.

    My wife and I are the same way. We’re cheapskates, we love finding bargains, and we’re pretty suspicious of anything which places such as Old Navy (do you have that place over there? It pretends its an ueber-trendy/hip store, but all they do is recycle the mediocre fashions of the past, proclaim them as the next great trend, and then switch off to something else equally lame 3 months later) We’re strange, eclectic people, and those thrift stores fit our idiom perfectly!

  8. Anonymous said,

    I wanted to tell you I know how it feels to be deleted I loved it

  9. Anonymous said,

    I wanted to tell you I know how it feels to be deleted I loved it

Leave a Reply

