Last night I dreamt…

October 20, 2006 at 3:36 am (Poetry)

1161340617-hr-57

Last night I dreamt I had a daughter

I saw us playing by the water

Her little face looked up at me

And I in turn looked out to sea

She looked out in the same direction

As I felt a wave of love and affection

Rise up in me for this beautiful girl

Her big brown eyes covered by a curl

Of gorgeous long dark wavy hair

Her face of innocence without a care

She held a shell in the palm of her hand

As her toes wriggled in the sand

 

The sun was out and the sky was blue

And in the distance I saw you

I wondered what you were doing here

Swimming in the ocean without fear

Then the tiny girl by my side

Walked a few steps into the lowering tide

Looked towards you and tried to say

“Daddy come back you’re too far away”

I didn’t know if you had heard her

Shout to you across the water

Somehow you knew to come back to shore

To the girl that you adore

 

The father of my child could it be true

That this man would really be you

But I still watched when at the end of the day

Hand in hand we all walked away

This could only be within my dream

And not in reality it would seem

But for that brief moment in my sleep

A beautiful dream I have to keep

 

 

Picture of me as a child on the beach in Sydney.

8 Comments

  1. James H said,

    Beautiful Poem

  2. Anonymous said,

    such a touching poem! thanks for sharng it with us!

  3. Anonymous said,

    very very touching! Right to the heart……

  4. JD said,

    Fluffy cat cool poem,we all have an inner child inside.maybe thats who was in the dream?

  5. Anonymous said,

    You captured a sense yearning with this poem. Thanks.

  6. Anonymous said,

    A lovely touching poem! What a gift you have. A beautiful child into a beautiful woman I might add… Becca

  7. Anonymous said,

    Wow! I must admit u have a talent gal!

  8. Anonymous said,

    Now you made me cry and think of my daughter Jessica. She’s all grown up now and is away making her own decitions. I pray she remembers all that her daddy tought her. Lovely poem Fluffy…

Leave a Reply

